Arguing Abortion in a Post-Roe America

This op-ed was written by The Rev. Dr. Lucas Hergert, minister of the North Shore Unitarian Church in Deerfield, Illinois. He will teach Ethics at Meadville Lombard Theological School during the coming academic year.  

SOURCE: Oxford University PressHow do Unitarian Universalists and other religious and secular progressives frame a response to the demise of Roe v. Wade? Kate Greasley’s book Arguments about Abortion: Personhood, Morality, and Law (2017) offers a thorough defense of the pro-choice position. Written before the Supreme Court scuttled Roe, Greasley’s justification for abortion rights is newly useful. The work proffers important tools both to thoughtful readers interested in secular moral reasoning as well as pro- choice activists who wish to make their case. Read more about Arguing Abortion in a Post-Roe America »

The UUHA at General Assembly 2022

The UU Humanist Association will have a modest and mostly online presence at General Assembly this year, If you're in Portland this year, Come visit us on Thursday in the Exhibition Hall, and learn a little bit more about us!

The real programming, though, will be available regardless of whether you're at GA this year. Below are our daily discussions, each of whch will be hosted on Zoom. You can follow the link below, or you can find login information on our virtual Exhibition on the Whova App.

ONLINE PRORAMMING - GA 2022

Wednesday June 22
DISCUSSION: Introduction to the UUHA
2:30 pm Pacific (3:30pm Mountain | 4:30pm Central | 5:30pm Eastern)
What is the UUHA? What does it mean to be a Humanist within the UU tradition? What do Humanists bring to GA each year?  UUHA Board Members Leika Lewis Cornwell, James Witker, Roger Brewin, and Jack Reich answer your questions about our organization's mission, values, and programming. Read more about The UUHA at General Assembly 2022 »

"How We Live Out Our Humanism" Edition of Religious Humanism Journal Available to Members Today!

We are pleased to announce the publication of our latest edition of the UUHA's official publication, the Journal of Religious Humanism. Paid UUHA members should receive a digital copy of the journal via email today.

Our latest issue of the journal is "How We Live Out Our Humanism"

In this issue we prompt our superb contributors to “tell us about your Humanist group’s community service, or an unusual family tradition, or an occasional gathering of friends to pursue a common passion, or an individual quest that reflects the best of humanism as you know it.” The results are an eclectic mix of impassioned reports on the work of Humanist communities and social justice organizations, along with deeply personal reflections on family, service to others and the human condition.

 

EARTH DAY CONCERT: Jim Scott Performing Wednesday Evening

UU Humanist members and friends are invited to celebrate Earth Day by joining a free concert Wednesday evening featuring Jim Scott, Martha Sandefer and special guests.

Jim Scott, internationally acclaimed composer, singer, and longtime UUHA member was the guitarist with the Paul Winter Consort and co-composer of their Missa Gaia/Earth Mass. Jim and long-time collaborator Martha Sandefer will sing of the beauty, power and fragility of this life support system and make the case for our immediate action. Read more about EARTH DAY CONCERT: Jim Scott Performing Wednesday Evening »

DARWIN DAY EVENT - One of Degree and Not of Kind: Darwin Widens the Circle

In honor of Darwin Day this coming weekend, The UU Humanist Association is excited to offer a free Zoom presentation and celebrate the birthday, the work, and the legacy of Charles Darwin.

One of Degree and Not of Kind: Darwin Widens the Circle

  • Date: Sunday, February 13
  • Time: 7:00pm Eastern (6:00pm Central | 5:00pm Mountain | 4:00pm Pacific)
  • Where: Zoom (Login instructions are listed below)

To quote Darwin himself from The Descent of Man:

“The difference in mind between man and the higher animals, great as it is, certainly is one of degree and not of kind.” -- Charles Darwin.

This Zoom event presentation and Discussion will be led on Zoom by Rev. Dr. David Breeden of First Unitarian Society of Minneapolis, and by Rev. Roger Brewin, UUHA Board Member and famed Darwin impersonator. Read more about DARWIN DAY EVENT - One of Degree and Not of Kind: Darwin Widens the Circle »

Pages

Subscribe to Front page feed